Change Can Be Good

One of the lessons I have been learning this year is to embrace the changes in my life. Change can be scary and often feels like the wrong thing, but whether it is right or wrong, you’ll never know unless you try it. If something in your life feels wrong or you feel you could be happier, a change might be in order. After you take that step, don’t immediately retreat back to the way things were.

Be brave.

Give yourself a chance to trust yourself.

This isn’t always an easy thing to do, believe me I know. Over Christmas break I decided to make a change in my relationship and try being on my own. After over two years with the same guy, I instantly felt like I made the wrong decision. I was out of my comfort zone and could only focus on the way things used to be. With the help of my friends and mom, inspirational Pinterest quotes, and the lyrics of Ingrid Michelson, I decided that I needed to trust my instincts and see what would happen.

In the past month, I’ve become a more independent person and am more willing to accept challenges and opportunities that lead to unforeseen places. I’ve branched out more, have made new friends and I have gained self-confidence.  I can’t fall back on my boyfriend to continuously act as my confidence boost- I have to find it within myself.

Don’t get me wrong, I still struggle at times with the fact that we are no longer together. The change is really hard. I also like to think that after I have more time to focus on myself, we will get back together. But the important thing to remember is that I would have never known if I hadn’t embraced the change. Without taking that step, I would never know the personal growth I could have or what else was out there for me.

Change is foreign and scary but sometimes one small step in the right direction ends up being the biggest step of your life.

image1

Leave a comment